Summer Skin

Summer Skin

Regular price $18.00

After touring Let the Light In, Amy began to write the songs on Summer Skin in 2011. Her finest songwriting to date is likely the result of the education she received ont eh road for a couple of years, playing rock clubs and theatres with Escovedo, the Heartless Bastards, and other artists. 

Summer Skin was produced by Craig Street (Norah Jones, k.d. Lang) and was recorded in LA with an all-star band, featuring David Garza (guitar), Me'Shell NdegéOcello (bass), Chris Bruce (guitar) and Jonathan Wilson (drums).

Robert Plant sings harmony with Cook on the beautiful "It's Gonna Rain", and joins Patty Griffin on the moody Airplane Driver. Ben Kweller co-wrote and sings back up vocals on the pop rocker "Getting To You". This record represents a quantum leap for Amy her evolution as a songwriter, a musician and an artist.

Side A

  1. Waiting 4 The World 2 End

  2. Sun Setting Backwards

  3. It's Gonna Rain (feat. Robert Plant)

  4. Summer Skin

  5. Getting To You (feat. Ben Kweller)

Side B

  1. Airplane Driver (feat. Robert Plant and Patty Griffin)

  2. Changing

  3. Hello, Bunny

  4. Break Your Fall

  5. Levee

  6. When I Wake Up


Vocals – Amy Cook, Ben Kweller (track 5), Robert Plant (tracks 3 and 6), Patty Griffin (track 6)
Guitars – Amy Cook, Ben Kweller (track 5), Chris Bruce, David Garza
Bass – Me'Shell NdegéOcello
Drums – Jonathan Wilson
Piano – Amy Cook and David Garza
Keyboards – Jonathan Wilson and Keefus Green (track 7)
Banjo – Jonathan Wilson
Harmonium – David Garza

Produced by Craig Street
Mixed By Steve Mazur
Mastered By Greg Calbi
Photography By Alexandra Valenti